Call for nominations: Scolnick Prize in Neuroscience

The McGovern Institute is now accepting nominations for the 16th annual Edward M. Scolnick Prize in Neuroscience.

The Edward M. Scolnick Prize Neuroscience is awarded annually by the McGovern Institute to recognize outstanding advances in the field of neuroscience. The prize, which is endowed through a gift from Merck to the McGovern Institute, consists of a $150,000 award, plus an inscribed gift. The recipient of the Scolnick Prize presents a public lecture at the McGovern Institute for Brain Research in the spring of 2019. A dinner for the recipient and invited guests follows the prize lecture.

Nomination Deadline has been extended: January 2, 2019

Nomination Procedures:

Candidates for the award must be nominated by individuals affiliated with universities, hospitals, medicals schools, or research institutes, with a background in neuroscience. Self-nomination is not permitted. Each nomination should include:
•    A biosketch or CV of the nominee
•    A letter of nomination with a summary and analysis of the major contributions of the nominee to the field of neuroscience
•    Up to two representative reprints will be accepted

Selection Procedures:

•    Members of the selection committee and faculty affiliated with MIT are not eligible
•    Announcement of the award recipient will be made in January 2019
•    Recipient must attend all events to be awarded the prize

Past Scolnick Prize Recipients:

2004: Dr. Masakazu Konishi, California Institute of Technology
2005: Dr. Judith L. Rapoport, National Institutes of Mental Health/NIH
2006: Dr. Michael E. Greenberg, Children’s Hospital/Harvard Medical School
2007: Dr. David Julius, University of California, San Francisco
2008: Dr. Michael Davis, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta
2009: Dr. Jeremy Nathans, Johns Hopkins University
2010: Drs. Lily and Yuh-Nung Jan, University of California, San Francisco
2011: Dr. Bruce McEwen, The Rockefeller University
2012: Dr. Roger Nicoll, University of California, San Francisco
2013: Dr. Thomas Jessell, HHMI, Columbia University Medical Center
2014: Dr. Huda Zoghbi, HHMI, Baylor College of Medicine
2015: Dr. Charles Gilbert, The Rockefeller University
2016: Dr. Cornelia Bargmann, HHMI, The Rockefeller University
2017: Dr. Catherine Dulac, HHMI, Harvard University
2018: Dr. David J. Anderson, HHMI, Caltech

For more information about past recipients or to view archived Scolnick prize lectures, click here>>

Send nomination packet to:


Attn: Scolnick Prize Nomination
McGovern Institute for Brain Research
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Avenue 46-3160
Cambridge, MA 02139