McGovern Faculty Portraits

Martha Constantine-Paton studies the formation and modification of synapses—the interconnections between neurons—in order to understand how experience shapes the wiring of the brain. Photo: Kent Dayton

The McGovern Institute faculty comprises one of the most distinguished groups of brain researchers anywhere in the world. Its members include one Nobel laureate, five members of the National Academy of Sciences, and leading experts in many areas of neuroscience.

The Institute currently has 18 principal investigators. Along with its 16 full members, these include two associate faculty members, who collaborate closely with the full investigators and participate in all the Institute’s activities. All McGovern faculty hold appointments in one or more academic departments at MIT.