Prestigious honor society announces 213 new members this year.

Eight from MIT elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences for 2018

Eight MIT faculty members are among 213 leaders from academia, business, public affairs, the humanities, and the arts elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the academy announced today.

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy publications, as well as studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, the humanities and culture, and education.

Those elected from MIT this year are:

  • Alexei Borodin, professor of mathematics;
  • Gang Chen, the Carl Richard Soderberg Professor of Power Engineering and head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering;
  • Larry D. Guth; professor of mathematics;
  • Parag A. Pathak, the Jane Berkowitz Carlton and Dennis William Carlton Professor of Microeconomics;
  • Nancy L. Rose, the Charles P. Kindleberger Professor of Applied Economics and head of the Department of Economics;
  • Leigh H. Royden, professor of earth, atmostpheric, and planetary sciences;
  • Sara Seager, the Class of 1941 Professor in the Department of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences with a joint appointment in the Department of Physics; and
  • Feng Zhang, the James and Patricia Poitras Professor of Neuroscience within the departments of Brain and Cognitive Sciences and Biological Engineering, and an investigator at the McGovern Institute for Brain Research at MIT.

“This class of 2018 is a testament to the academy’s ability to both uphold our 238-year commitment to honor exceptional individuals and to recognize new expertise,” said Nancy C. Andrews, chair of the board of the American Academy.

“Membership in the academy is not only an honor, but also an opportunity and a responsibility,” added Jonathan Fanton, president of the American Academy. “Members can be inspired and engaged by connecting with one another and through academy projects dedicated to the common good. The intellect, creativity, and commitment of the 2018 class will enrich the work of the academy and the world in which we live.”

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony in October in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Since its founding in 1780, the academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the 18th century, Maria Mitchell and Daniel Webster in the 19th century, and Toni Morrison and Albert Einstein in the 20th century. The current membership includes more than 200 Nobel laureates and 100 Pulitzer Prize winners.